What was your most shocking experience as a doctor?

What was your most shocking experience as a doctor? by @tinynair

Answer by Tiny Nair:

The patient came and sat down.

“Sir, my problem is related to smoking; I want to stop it and I need your help and treatment”

“Don’t worry. Once you are motivated we can certainly do it”, I said emphatically”.

“Sir, it is a long history. 10 years back, I was consulting Prof. XXX with chronic cough and he told me ‘if you continue smoking you will get bronchitis’ but I didn't listen. Unfortunately Prof XXX died 2006”. (Prof XXX was my teacher in medical college)

After that I thought of consulting Dr YYY. He too said that heavy smoking may cause lung cancer, but sir, I continued to smoke. Dr YYY was so nice to me but he suddenly died. (Dr YYY was a very respected Physician in Trivandrum)

Then since 2012 I was seeing Dr ZZZ, he also warned me that if I continue smoking I might get a stroke or a heart attack. I think you know sir that after retiring from Govt. service Dr ZZZ died two months back in sleep; people say it was a stroke sir. (Dr ZZZ had a sudden cardiac arrest)

“You are my only hope sir please help me”

I knew, my time has come.

What was your most shocking experience as a doctor?

Leave a Reply

