Why is it that some people don’t like Islam?

Why is it that some people don't like Islam? by Elke Weiss

Answer by Elke Weiss:

Please don’t use this as an opportunity to bash 1.6 billion Muslims. I am not sure if you guys know, but I have Muslim friends and neighbors. Muslims serve side by side Jews in the IDF and one of the most passionate Zionists I know is Muslim. I critiqued one behavior.

I think there are some aspects to all religions which are frightening, but here’s one that bothers me, the holiest country to Muslims is Saudi Arabia, and the holiest cities are found there. But the behavior feels quite unholy to me and I think it’s something Islam can improve.

There’s very little public disgust about Mecca practicing religious apartheid. I’m shocked and saddened to see a city in the twenty first century, where the roads are actually segregated by religion.

I also don’t understand how there isn’t more public protest against the lack of freedom of religion there. According to the State Department, non-Muslims of different faiths who engage in overt religious activity have been subject to “ arrest, imprisonment, lashing, deportation, and sometimes torture” Saudi Arabia

There are churches and mosques in the Jewish state of Israel.

There are no churches or synagogues in Saudi Arabia.

My Muslim friend can eat dinner with me near my home in Jerusalem. I can’t eat dinner with him near his home in Mecca. Hypothetically, he could have tea in my living room if we were chaperoned but not in his living room, because as a Jew, I can’t enter the city. (Why chaperone? It’s his religious requirement since I’m an unmarried woman)

My friend can pray in Jerusalem, wear his traditional clothing, observe his faith publicly.

I can’t pray in Mecca (if I wanted to), wear a Magen David necklace or observe my faith publicly.

Jews and Muslims celebrating their faiths openly.

I think Muslims who enjoy the freedom of religion in other countries should work harder to bring that freedom back to the cradle of their faith.

Why is it that some people don't like Islam?

Leave a Reply

